Christmas Eve, I was talking with my friends, Rachel and Josh, about my concerns with pain. Josh likened it to a really bad sunburn. You're basically in intense pain for a few days then it just stings if you rub it the wrong way or knock into something. As he was saying this I tried to remember a time when I'd gotten a really bad sunburn and couldn't remember it. Apparently, my deep thought came across as a blank stare which it probably was. I had to admit that while I'd had slight sunburns--the type that sting for a few hours and then your skins starts peeling--I'd never had a really bad red-lobster-type sunburn. Josh teased me about my skin not being so fair but it wasn't that he's whiter than me. I have such a fear of having a really bad sunburn, of being in pain, that I practically take a bath in SPF 50+ before I go out in the sun.
This led me to a realization. I've always avoided/taken precaution against being in pain and now I'm headed straight for the lions den of pain. I'm allowing a doctor to break my leg and put pins into it to keep it steady. I'm going to stay in some kind of pain for the next six months. The idea of being in pain with no escape scares me more than dying.
On top of that, I'm going to be dependent on others. I haven't been dependent on others since I was a child. Now, I'll need someone to help me cook, clean, get dressed, and who knows what else. I know that my family and friends are happy to help and I am grateful to have them. However, it's like walking a tight rope. When do you stop being the friend and start being the burden? I don't want my friendships to change and I fear that they will and that it won't be good.
There's also being seen as less than superhuman. Don't misunderstand me, I don't mean that I see myself as some sort of Wonder Woman but I do see myself as someone that is always available, can be counted on to help, and is the strong one. I'm the strong person that can nearly always be depended on and now I'll be the weak person who will be depending on others.
I keep thinking that maybe I should just skip the surgery, live with the pain, give up the dream of a 5K, and find other ways to get the exercise I need. Some days I even convince myself of this and I do all kinds of stuff. Then the next day --sometimes, later that night-- I end up in so much pain I'm reminded of why I need the surgery.
But which pain is worse? The pain I'm in now or the pain I'll be in because of the surgery?
Is there anyone out there who has had to wear a leg brace halo? Can someone tell me how much pain I'm in for?






