Saturday, September 21, 2013

Fake Geek Girls

I've heard a lot lately about the persecution of Geek Girls by Geek guys (not all Geek guys but there is definitely a good number out there).  I can only make guesses as to why Geek guys would attempt to push us out of the geek culture.  Is it that they think we aren't real?  It feel like it.  It's like they're so afraid that that we're a mirage that they do and say anything to prove that we are fake even to not only their detriment but ours.  Perhaps, it's that reality isn't perfect.  They've spent so much time mulling over, daydreaming, and fantasizing over perfect fictional female character that real females just can't live up to fictitious perfection.  What ever the reason it seems to me that if you're a heterosexual geek guy you'd be jumping for joy that there is finally a heterosexual geek girl who not only understands but shares and encourages your geeky interest. 

Geek girls should be treated like the fucking holy grail but we're not.  Instead, we're accused of being fakes, wanting attention, and quizzed, as severely as those suffering the Spanish Inquisition once, about our knowledge of the thing we love.  We are told we're band-wagoners who only got on board when a movie came out or a show was rebooted.  Even if we've answered 100 questions correctly, the moment we either answer question 101 wrong or admit we don't know the answer we are labeled Fake Geek Girl.

The treatment of Geek girls has scared me away from going to a couple of conventions, most recently a convention centered around Sci-Fi, which is what I focus my geek love on.

I am a Trekkie which means I possess a shit-ton amount of knowledge of the television shows and movies.  However, I don't know everything.  I don't know seasons or episode numbers/titles.  I'm also not well versed in Deep Space Nine, I didn't like Voyager, and I never seen an episode of Enterprise.  I've read several memoirs and the books by Shatner.  However, I've never read any of the books based on the series written by other authors.  I also like the reboot movies despite other Trekkies disliking of them.  My focus is on the original Star Trek and the Next Generation and specifically on the character development.  Even more specifically on Mr. Spock and his particular story arch.  All that being said, I'm still hesitant to go to a convention because I don't want to be quizzed, accused, or labelled.  It makes me sad because in the "real world"--for lack of a better term-- I don't have anyone to really discuss Trek with on a deeper level.  And if I start talking to someone about it they get a glazed look on their face or shake their head and good naturally tease me, "you're so weird."

I found this video online and I only wish I'd seen it before the convention I missed rather than after.  However, I've seen it and my point is, I am a Geek girl.  I might not be an all knowing Geek girl--and why would I want to be-- but I am one and no one has the right to quiz me, accusing me of otherwise, or make me fear conventions. 

         

No comments:

Post a Comment